Friday, July 19, 2019

Five Pillars of Islam Essay -- Islam Religion Essays

The Five Pillars of Islam   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  After watching The Five Pillars of Islam it has made me rather interested in the history and origin of the Islamic religion. So often today we see the Islam as a religion of terrorism, and war. We see it as a religion of people that have nothing in their heart but bad. The truth is that Islam was started on principles very different from what we see in the news or hear on the radio. Islam rather has a long rich history that is full of some of the same principles and morals of Christianity that are seen in the western world as the foundation of good. Islam has what it calls The Five Pillars that are in purpose much like the Christian Ten Commandments. They are a set of rules that are the foundation of the Islam as a whole. The Five Pillars are: Shahadah, Salah, Zakah, Sawm, and Hajj.   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Shahadah is the first pillar that is the act of believing and saying the words â€Å"There is no god worthy of worship except god and Muhammad is his messenger†. This is at the very heart of Islam. Before Muhammad and his message the Islamic people worshiped many gods. They had a different god for everything, and gave sacrifices to these gods to keep them happy. After Muhammad brought his message people were to only believe in one god and that no other god was worthy of ones worship. This is identical to the first commandment of the Christian church that says â€Å"You shall have no other God before me†, and the second commandment that says "You shall not make for yourself a graven image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them or serve them; for I The Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the child ren to the third and the fourth generation of those who hate Me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love Me and keep My Commandments." Both of these commandments are identical to that of the First pillar in that they both set up the fact that there is only one god and that his followers shall only worship him.   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Salah is the second pillar that is requires all Islamic people to pray five times a day. These prayers are not just any old prayer they are rather set prayers that are expected of a good Islamic person to pray. They are very ritualistic and must be done in a very ordere... ...ammad had said, â€Å"A person who performs Hajj properly will return as a newly born baby (free of all sins)†. The pilgrimage also enables Muslims from all around the world, of different colors, languages, races, and ethnicities, to come together in a spirit of universal brotherhood and sisterhood to worship their god together. In much the same way Christians have revivals where they come together and worship with other believers at a central event. Although there is a definite difference between revivals of the Christian church and the trip to Mecca for the Muslim people the idea is the same, worship your god with your fellow brothers and sisters.   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  After watching The Five Pillars of Islam and looking into the beliefs of Islam, it occurs to me that the Christian and Islamic faiths have a lot in common. The Islamic faith is very different than what we see on TV and here in the news. We often times only allow our selves to see the bad and look over the good. After watching this movie I believe we as people of the western world need to look at The Five Pillars and realize truly what the Islamic faith is based on, and not what we have been led to believe from the news and media.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Where Do the Motives in Characters from “Frankenstein” and...

Where do the motives in characters from â€Å"Frankenstein† and â€Å"One flew over the cuckoos nest† originate an...